Skip to content

I’ve Moved!

December 28, 2010

Yes, my blog has moved from Blogger to WordPress.  I got some feedback that it was really hard to leave comments on the other site and since, well…I like comments, it was worth the move.  I’m told that I’ll like WordPress much more than the other site, but I’m just discovering what’s available.

I had a roller  meltdown today.  Not the first one, definitely not the last.  I’m told that derby girls don’t cry, but after hearing/reading others’ confessionals, I believe it’s a myth.  My meltdown was a combination of things.  I’d like to say that it was because I was up at 2:00 am working on a late night crisis call (I’m a crisis counselor), but that would just be an excuse.   You see, wanting to play roller derby so badly makes me vulnerable to disappointment.  I have put every bit of free time and energy into making this happen, so if something gets in my way, I get upset.

The first thing that triggered my emotional overflow was learning that assessments are scheduled for Sunday.  Crap.  I had kind of come to terms with the likelihood that I wouldn’t pass the skills assessment on the first try, but learning that I have so little time to practice hit hard.  The second thing that set me off was learning that our practice schedule is changing.  Now this would be a simple adaptation for most people, but my job of variable shifts and unpredictable hours adds an extra challenge.  I was able to request some accommodations at work to get a schedule that works for practice, and now I’ll have to ask for more accommodations.  My January scheduled seemed like an insurmountable barrier and I couldn’t see any way out of missing almost every practice for a month.  I threw a tantrum, then started to use my rational brain and checked my upcoming work schedule.  After getting my head on straight, I realized that although I’ll miss some practices, it’s not as bad as I first thought.

I guess I’m anxious for assessments to be over.  It’s such an unfamiliar experience to work my ass off and only moderately improve.  I’m used to challenges that I can conquer with hard work.  Skating is a much more gradual and (for me) unnatural process.

After recovering from my own crisis, I got some skate time today with some fellow nuggets and one of the Betties on the roof of a parking garage.  As usual, working on my skills and working up a sweat helped me let go of my frustration and anxiety.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. stacylouise permalink
    December 28, 2010 8:24 am

    Deeeeeee! 🙂 Love you’re at WordPress now. I’m curious t osee how you’ll end up liking it! I love reading your blog and look forward to every entry. 🙂 ❤

  2. Trish, aka CodeMauler permalink
    December 29, 2010 2:10 am

    I suspect the “newness” of the assessments is as daunting as the frustration. I know that you’ll prevail. Success is the only word I’d use for this effort!

  3. December 29, 2010 7:41 am

    I added your site to Digg!

  4. Blitz permalink
    December 29, 2010 7:44 pm

    You’ll get the hang of things. Building the skills needed for derby takes time (and frustration, plus lots of practice).

Leave a Reply

