Skip to content

I passed!

January 10, 2011

I PASSED!  I PASSED!  I PASSED!

That means I continue on to Boot Camp 2 with the Betties!  Now we really focus on derby skills.  I’m so excited!

I may be making a big deal out of it, but for me it’s huge.  Two years ago I was almost 100 pounds heavier and got winded going up stairs.  I never would have dreamed I’d doing anything remotely athletic, much less roller derby.  I used every ounce of determination I had to get to this point.  Congratulations to my fellow nuggets as well!  Those of you who passed, as well as those of you who are still working towards it.  No matter where our skating skills are, we are the definition of determination!

By the way, it turned out that Matt was right:

I passed my assessments because I’m a Colossal Badass.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2011 10:53 pm

    I found your blog right near the beginning and I have been reading your posts with great pleasure. I’ve been having a crappy day at work and just read this post and I’m so excited for you!!!!!

    I am in awe of all that you’re doing, and you are definitely Badass! 🙂 Keep up the awesome work. I am really enjoying reading your posts!

    • January 10, 2011 11:02 pm

      I’m glad you’re enjoying my blog and that I could bring some excitement to an otherwise crappy day. I browsed through your blogs and it looks like you’ve made some great accomplishments as well!

  2. Trish, aka CodeMauler permalink
    January 11, 2011 12:40 am

    I JUST KNEW YOU COULD DO THIS!!!
    (That’s me being VERY excited for you.)

    You’ve been in my thoughts and I really wanted you to get some positive news, one way or another. This is the BEST of all things!!

    I am so happy for you. I cannot wait to read about the adventures in Boot Camp 2!

    ~ Trish

  3. January 11, 2011 12:46 am

    Ah-freaking-mazing!!!! 🙂 Congratulations!!

  4. January 11, 2011 12:51 am

    Of course you passed! You did amazing! I was reading yesterday (your blog and other’s face book posts) and just DYING with anticipation to set your nerves at ease…I’m so glad Dita let me spill the beans! Congrats!

  5. IndyGo Wylde permalink
    January 11, 2011 3:12 am

    Congrats! This is SO awesome for you! Keep up the work and maybe I’ll see you on the track next season! (you know, when I get good enough to join a competitive league)

  6. Kristine Fotland permalink
    January 11, 2011 4:27 am

    Congratulations! I’ve kept checking in on your blog all week to see if you passed yet! You are such an inspiration. Thank you for updating us…and yes, I agree with Mark, you are a Colossal Badass!

  7. January 11, 2011 2:28 pm

    Yay! I just started new recruit practice last week…it’s great to hear success stories from other fresh meat! Congrats!

  8. January 12, 2011 12:52 am

    CONGRATS!!!!!!

    I have to take my assessments again starting Sunday, because I just joined a new team. Even though I know I can do 25/5, I’m still nervous as hell about that and a few other things. Thanks for giving me a boost!

  9. Jenn McCollum permalink
    January 12, 2011 3:32 am

    Go, badass, go! So happy for you! Keep up the good work!

  10. Kristen permalink
    January 24, 2011 11:48 pm

    Do you find that you get nervous before practices and bouts? I am struggling with the fact that I dislocated my elbow 3 times in about a month, and now I am a little gunshy about falling. Getting ready to go to practice and my hands are sweaty and my heart is beating faster. I think it is a combination of nerves and excitement, but do you have any suggestions on how to beat the fear?

    • January 24, 2011 11:57 pm

      Well I’m a long ways away from bouting, but I do get nervous before practice. My nerves are not so much about falling but just about being able to pull off these crazy difficult skills. When I get out there, I can’t say the nerves go away, but I have so much more to focus on–skating–that I no longer have time to pay attention to how nervous I am.

Leave a Reply

