Skip to content

Patience, Grasshopper

January 10, 2011

Last night and this morning I was a nervous wreck.  Matt told me to recite “I”m going to pass assessments because I”m a Colossal Badass” 1,000 times.  Venus N. Vee called me out on my negative attitude and told me I have to think as if I’m going to pass assessments, rather than prepare for disappointment.  I recited my mantra when prompted, and even managed to make it sound confident a few times, but I wasn’t feeling it.

Today was the long-awaited, much dreaded skills assessment day.  The day we prove how much we’ve learned over the past two months.  Yes, it was exactly two months ago this date that we had our first on-skates practice.  When I think of it that way, I can’t think of very much I’ve improved so significantly in two months as I have my skating skills.

Now whether I’ve improved them enough to pass assessments…I’m still waiting to find out.

My group was lined up to do the endurance (25 laps in 5 minutes) test first.  Although it meant less warming up, I was glad to do it first because it was the part I wanted to be over with the most.  Endurance is pass-fail.  If you do 25 laps or more, you have a chance at passing assessments.  If you do fewer than 25 then you still get to do the other skills tests, but you know you’ll have to reassess.  I wanted those 25 laps SOOOO BADDDD.  I went into it just thinking about skating hard.  There was no counting, no calculating.  I was pushing myself, but not to the point of falling over.  I wavered a couple of times, but didn’t fall (like I did last time we practiced endurance).  As the last minute and then the last 30 seconds were called, I pushed my hardest, but I had very little wind left in my lungs.  I crossed the 25 lap line just as the whistle blew.  Skin of my teeth.  I really need to get back into running.  I have spent so much time on skates lately that I’ve been neglecting my cross training.  I know that running would help my endurance.

The other skills were a blur.  Some of the things I thought would be easy were my weakest scores.  I felt like I totally had weaving down, but didn’t do so well when I was actually out there.  Some of the things I’d practiced the hardest weren’t on the test.  The transition stop (or turn around stop) is my proudest accomplishment, but we didn’t have to do that one.  Up until last week, I had no confidence that I would be able to glide on my right foot.  My ankle does a weird turning-in thing, but only when I’m gliding on that foot.  I practiced and practiced and decided that what I thought was an ankle problem was actually a brain problem.  I was able to overcome my brain and eek out a 3 (out of 5) on the glide.  We turned in our score sheets as the next group prepared to go through the stations.

And now I wait.

I was told that we will get an email with the results.  Since I don’t know how it’s scored, I can’t really anticipate whether or not I passed.  I’m proud of myself for doing it.  Even though I didn’t execute each skill at my best, I’m proud that I am at least capable of doing each one.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 10, 2011 12:26 pm

    WOOOHOOOO! Congratulations on doing 25/5 in five. I skim read this post the first time because I couldn’t take the suspense! Good job and good luck 🙂 Can’t wait to read about the results of your assessment!

Leave a Reply

