Skip to content

Lesson Learned (again)

January 14, 2011

It seems that all the important lessons need to be learned more than once.  Tonight I was reminded that food and water are important.

Due to what my dad appropriately labeled “a strategical error,” I did not eat my usual meal before practice tonight.  Usually, I eat a satisfying but not heavy meal about 90 minutes before every workout.  Actually, change “usually” to “always.”  I have learned this lesson before and know very well that hunger does not make a good athlete (nor does being full).  During everyday activities, I try not to let myself get hungry because it leads to very bad moods and headaches, but I know that a little hunger won’t kill me.  If I’m going to be an athlete though, eating and drinking enough is important.

I knew that our first practice since assessments would be an ass-kicker.  I was prepared in spirit, yet still unprepared.  We started out with some endurance skating with a pack.  At this point, endurance is my biggest weakness, even when I eat right.  I just barely passed the line to finish my 25 in 5 during my assessments.  Had I been any slower, I would not have passed.  That pretty  much makes me the slowest person on the track and it sucks.

Tonight, I pushed and pushed and pushed myself in spite of my pissed off body, but ultimately my body said Hell No!  My trouble quad decided to cramp up which makes it really painful to lift my left foot.  I decided to sit on the bench and ice it for a bit, but felt crappy about what I perceived to be wimping out.  The truth is, my body was done.  I’m sure that not drinking enough water contributed to my quad cramping up (oh yeah, did I mention that after not eating dinner, I also managed to forget to bring water?  Stoopid!).  I also know that if I’m not at my best, it’s also when I’m mostly likely to hurt myself or hurt someone else.  While skating with a pack, I had to step over people more than once to avoid hitting them.  Being able to pick up my leg/foot is important.  Nonetheless, I felt shitty about sitting on the bench.

Anyhow, lesson learned and I won’t be doing that again anytime soon.

Now I just need to keep working on that endurance.  Skating as much as I have been has also led to me neglecting my other workouts like running, elliptical, and even strength training.  I really need to get back into some of those other activities to help me with my endurance.  I need to practice sprinting.  Sprinting is something I’ve always hated because it makes my lungs hurt, but I won’t get better unless I keep pushing myself.  Tomorrow I’ll hit the gym and work on that.  If there’s time left over, I’m going for a beach skate.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2011 5:05 am

    It *was* intense! Wow. I’m still so totally impressed by you. Keep it up chica! xoxoxo!!! ❤

  2. Eleanor Elliott permalink
    January 14, 2011 5:23 am

    Hey PTSDee
    I agree with all that you said.
    I need to do the sprinting on my lunch breaks at work too.
    Workouts in between derby practices mean a lot.
    As athletes, we need to eat the proper protein and carbohydrates and drink lots of water.
    Sincerely, Storm

  3. January 15, 2011 6:20 pm

    Yeah, pretty much if you’re doing it correctly, your body should hate you for this, after EVERY practice, for at least 6 months… maybe more. Remember that hydrating for practice starts a few days before!
    I’d recommend integrating those sprints into your beach/street skates. In interval form, like easy 15s, sprint 10s, easy 15s, sprint 15s… keep adding 5 seconds to your sprint time up to 45s (or whatever works for you) then subtract 5 s off your sprint time till you get back to the beginning.

    ❤ Viva V!

Leave a Reply

