Skip to content

Gatorade Saved My Soul

January 24, 2011

One of the things that gives me pride about roller derby is that I push myself to my limit.  Yesterday was one of those days, but I might have pushed a little beyond where I should have.  I was sick all day on Saturday.  Aches, sneezes, fatigue.  My day looked like this:

Breakfast…nap…beach…nap…lunch…nap…watch roller derby bout on the computer…nap

I’ll admit, I wasn’t full-on-puking sick, but my body was worn down and telling me that if I don’t take care, something big is coming.  So I took care on Saturday.

Even though I’d been feeling crappy, I decided to go to roller derby practice on Sunday.  I told myself that if it got to be too much, I could sit on the side and watch the drills.  I did sit out a couple of times because I was feeling dizzy (hard to skate while dizzy), but I stuck with it mostly the entire time.

By the end, I couldn’t see straight.  I’ve had zombie-like fatigue after workouts before, but nothing like this.  I thought I was going to throw up.  I couldn’t talk, couldn’t drive.  My husband stopped at the 7-11 and got me some Gatorade and almonds, and took me to Goleta Beach to revive me.  It took about an hour before I could finish sentences.  Most of it is a blur to me.  I sound like I’m just being dramatic, but my husband said he’d never seen me like this before.

Low blood sugar?  Dehydration?  Electrolyte imbalance?  I don’t know.  I just know I DON’T want to do that to myself again.

Bodies are strange things.  I wish I could figure out exactly what mine needs so that I can be at my absolute best at every practice.

In other news, I may go down to Sin City Skates on Wednesday to try on skates.  It feels weird to consider buying new skates when my confidence is all over the floor and my last few practices have sucked (OK, I know that in my last blog I said I would only be a confident badass from now on, but gimmeabreak).  My Sure Grip Rebels are still passable, but getting worn out already.  Stitching coming undone around the ankles, lace eyelets are close to being pulled through…I don’t know that my skill level is to the point where my skates are holding me back, but since I have no intention of giving up anytime soon, good skates couldn’t hurt, right?  I don’t know that I’ll buy any right away, but I do want to try different boots on to see what kind of fit I like the most so that I’m ready when the time comes.  Or I might fall in love at first sight.  We’ll see.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2011 5:41 pm

    Especially on those hot afternoon practices, I never leave with the ability to do anything: make decisions, think straight, form coherent sentences… food or beer is the only cure.

    • January 24, 2011 5:47 pm

      Mmmm beer might have been my missing ingredient.

      Obviously I do plan to put myself through it again, repeatedly. I just want to be at my best. Maybe I’ll finally be at my best in about 6-12 months? lol

  2. Trish, aka CodeMauler permalink
    January 25, 2011 11:45 pm

    Like me and my cycling, you and I put a lot of faith and effort into our equipment. You don’t want to be in a fast corner and find out you’re literally riding on borrowed time. If skating makes you happy, that’s all you need to motivate a decision.

    ~ Trish

  3. January 26, 2011 7:58 am

    I got the 2010 Riedell She Devils – and am MORE than happy with them. Also, if I progress out of them, I can sell them used to a newer skater, and have a few bucks to put towards new skates.

  4. July 21, 2013 12:57 am

    Hello! I simply would like to give you a huge thumbs up for your great info you have got right
    here on this post. I will be returning to your web
    site for more soon.

  5. October 20, 2013 11:40 pm

    I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your site.
    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for mee to come here
    and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?
    Outstanding work!

  6. December 4, 2013 4:30 am

    I amm regular reader, how are you everybody? Thhis post posted at this website is genuinely fastidious.

Leave a Reply

