Skip to content

10 Pounds

January 26, 2011

Ok, after working so hard to lose 97 pounds, I never EVER would have thought that I’d be caught bragging about gaining 10 pounds, but here it is.  Since starting roller derby, I’ve gained 10 pounds and still wear the same size clothes.  If anything, my clothes are fitting better and I’m able to find more size 8’s that work for me.  I do have one pair of less-forgiving jeans with very little room in the thigh-region.  Those are less happy with the change, but my legs are more muscular now and my tummy is flatter.  The way I add that up is that I’ve lost some fat and put on a butt-load (literally) of muscle.  Yes that’s right.  My butt is loving those squats.  Thank you coaching team and Wall of Pain 🙂

Today Matt and I are going on a little road trip to San Diego to visit Sin City Skates.  He has seen me so discouraged lately that I know he hopes that waving some really nice skates in front of me will perk me up, and he might be right.  I mostly want to ask bunches of questions about plates and trucks and stuff like that, and also try on boots so that when I am ready, I’ll know what boot and size fits me well.  I might fall in love instantly, which wouldn’t be so bad either.

I’m in this for the long haul, and I’d love to have some worthy skates along the way.  While I’m doubting my chances of joining the team in the first round of tryouts, I won’t give up.  Skating has done so much for me, not to mention getting my family obsessed with skating too, I’m in this for good.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2011 4:05 pm

    You can do it!

  2. Kitty permalink
    January 26, 2011 4:56 pm

    That is fabulous news!

    I just got a pair of Riedell Jammer 911’s they are Jam skates but they are rumored to be a wicked derby bout since they have so much support! They are a made to order boot so if you don’t like the red you can get them in a different color(i don’t know how much more it is) another set-up i have hear are good and have seen a lot are call the Minx.

    Issues: The buckle is a little weird feeling at first. They come with toe plugs so stops would need to be bought. The break in time is rumored to be long (the better the skates you get the longer the break in)

    Perks: Narrow heel but are wider at the toe. So at least in my case they are nice and sung. The tongue is uber soft and the buckle really helps support around the arches (though I had switch out the insoles because my arch is insanely high)

    Lots of people complain that the plate is too heavy but I am a 4’11” little girl (in size not age) and I don’t find them to be heavy at all.

    Minx: http://www.roller.riedellskates.com/ProductDetail.aspx?ProductName=Minx
    Jammer: http://www.roller.riedellskates.com/ProductDetail.aspx?ProductName=Jammer

  3. Trish, aka CodeMauler permalink
    January 26, 2011 7:08 pm

    I’m eager to hear more about your shopping adventure!!

Leave a Reply

