Skip to content

Carbs are good food

January 30, 2011

After practice last Sunday, I felt pretty defeated.  My body was sick and rebelling against the heat, the exertion, the whole experience.  Part of it was that I was sick the day before and not feeling 100% that day either.  Aside from that, I also felt like I was doing something wrong to have my body rebel against me so hard.  I emailed our team captain, Viva Violence to ask for some nutrition advice.  She suggested that I might not be eating enough to sustain my workouts and that I might need more carbs before working out.  I thought there might be something to that, as I’m really good at recovery-eating, but am really careful about pacing my caloric intake before workouts.

So before practice on Thursday, I tried an experiment.  I ate pasta for lunch.  Pasta for snack.  Drank lots of water.  Salty chips (because I was going to be sweating buckets of salt).  I brought a liter of water to practice as well as a liter of Gatorade.  I probably went overboard, but for the sake of experimentation, I wanted to make sure I was well-fed and watered.

During the endurance part of practice, I felt like I was dying, which is the norm at this point.  My breath was wheezing, almost a lung squeak.  I had sweat pouring out of my helmet.  I wanted to stop, but kept going until the whistle blew.  It was brutal.  But when we stopped and I got my breathing under control, I realized I was still standing.  I had the strength to do the next drill and the next.  In spite of all my fumbling and awkwardness, I was able to manage a couple of effective blocks.  When practice was over, I was worn out.  I had given it my all again, but this time I could stand, I could form sentences, and I could drive myself home.  Victory!

I’m learning that once again, my relationship with food is changing.  I’m going to have to eat more to keep up with the demands of roller derby and just trust that I won’t put back on all that weight I struggled to lose.  Carbs are good and necessary.  So is salt, at least on the days when I’m sweating so much.

And a quick update after my trip to Sin City Skates:  I tried on lots and lots of boots and found that the Riedell 265’s feel really good on my feet, as do the 595’s and 695’s.  Although my current boots are held together with duct tape (at least the tongue and around the ankles), I’m not sure I’m ready to make a decision about an upgrade package.  I’d be perfectly happy with 265 boots, but I don’t know what kind of plate would be best for me and I’d like to learn more about wheels for our track surface.  Not to mention that I’m having a lot of self-doubt and internal conflict about my roller derby abilities.  I keep having to remind myself that I’m a brand new baby skater and that three months ago, all I really knew how to do was roll around in a circle.  Maybe when I muster up a little confidence, I’ll invest in some new skates.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Kitty permalink
    January 31, 2011 4:36 am

    Ok, i know i said before my plates didn’t seem heavy. I have had two sessions in them and THEY ARE TOO HEAVY! I would NOT! suggest having them mounted on a PowerDyne DynaPro. It’s not that they are bad. I love them! the reaction is great and jumping is fabulous but they are so heavy my lungs start acting up because of the work out they give me. My little size 4 skates weigh about the same as guy with the same 911 boot as my with a size 13 PowerDyne Triton.

    • Viva Violence! permalink
      January 31, 2011 5:36 am

      A cast material will perform less and weigh more than an extruded/machined material…
      If the dynapro is too heavy, you should look into other options like a Ti or Mg alloy plate.
      I’ve only seen one problem w/ the dyna pro… not many ppl have the triton (since its so heavy) and I’ve seen many problems w/ the reactor (super expensive plate)… Semper & LV have the DA-45 plates & trucks if you want to try something special or new, you should ask to try their skates 😉

      • Kitty permalink
        January 31, 2011 12:57 pm

        I don’t plan to buy anything new on my skates for a while seeing as I got them this week. The Triton is lighter then the DynaPro though. They aren’t affecting my skating just my energy level and breathing. That will change as I get used to them.

        I am not sure if you were referring to me or Simone “Semper & LV have the DA-45 plates & trucks if you want to try something special or new, you should ask to try their skates” but if it were to me I have no clue who they are 🙂

  2. January 31, 2011 9:04 pm

    Kitty, I think it was for me because I do know who Semper and LV are 🙂

    Thanks for the suggestions. The last thing I need at the moment is something to impact my energy level and breathing lol. I’ve heard from several other people that the Tritons are actually heavier than dynapros because they are wider and better suited for tall (tranlate: large) skaters.

    • Kitty permalink
      February 1, 2011 3:55 am

      Teeheehee okies I thought so.

      and fyi I am totally not making it up out of my imagination it is even on the stats sheets for the Riedell plates ><

      Size 4
      Triton: 7.68oz
      DynaPro: 8.56oz

      *will stop trying to prove herself right cause its annoys others*

      I'ma wear ankle weights to help with my problem! I just thought of it while I was skating. I am going to wear them while I am just walking around. 1lbs each ankle. I will let you know how it goes. I am starting tomorrow (cause i need to buy them)

  3. Trish, aka CodeMauler permalink
    January 31, 2011 11:58 pm

    I struggle with similar food issues when my cycling training efforts fire up. My husband is quick to adjust and pump up the carbs in our menus. He also helps me sneak in extra protein, which seems to aid in muscle recovery, too.

    I love reading the notes about the skates. I’m not in the market, but should anyone ask me who has some info… I’m coming your way! ~ Trish

  4. February 1, 2011 3:08 am

    My fellow derby and exercise friends swear by peanut butter and jelly sandwiches about an hour to 30 minutes before practice. I used to eat a tablespoon of peanut butter when I did 6:00am fitness boot camps. Totally helpful.

    Also, look for Sports Beans by Jelly Belly to pop throughout practice. I wouldn’t have made it through the summer without them.

  5. February 1, 2011 3:11 am

    Also, re: muscle recovery — I’ve heard both pickle juice and chocolate milk.

    NOT AT THE SAME TIME.

Leave a Reply

