Skip to content

Detour Ahead

February 13, 2011

I mentioned in my last blog that I’ve been sick.  I’ve since found out that it’s not the flu bug tummy ache that I initially thought it was.  Nothing life threatening or anything, but it does interfere.  My doctor has placed me on exercise restriction for a week, longer if I need surgery.  When I asked if I can go back to roller derby practice when I feel better, she said “No you may not!

Hmmpphh!

As a result of these new developments, I have some difficult decisions to make.  The biggest one will be a decision about my health with consequences that may impact my fertility.  Yeah, pretty big and not something I feel like dealing with.  But until I do, I may continue to be in pain which is also not something I feel like dealing with.  I’ll find out more about what my options are tomorrow.

The other decision I need to make is about roller derby.  I want to play roller derby, there is no doubt about it.  However, right now I’m barely able to go to work, much less put my body to the test doing endurance drills.  I don’t know how long it will take to get myself back out there, but I expect that this time off is setting me back a bit.  To say it is disappointing is an understatement.  I’m angry and sad, not just about roller derby, but because I don’t need any more health problems.  Just nine months ago I had my heart repaired.  Now I’m gonna need my uterus repaired.  I’m too young for this crap.

At this point, I’m thinking that my best option is to stay involved by joining the ref team, the Derby Justice League.  There are a lot of reasons why this would be a good move for me.  I’d know the rules in and out.  I’d be involved by filling a much needed role.  Stripes are slimming.  I’d have some time to get my body back into shape so that I can be prepared for future tryouts or boot camp next year.  I’d get plenty of time on skates, at my own pace, so that when I do get back into roller derby training, I’ll be ready for being successful instead of stressing about slowing down my pack.

In the meantime, these two are working on cheering me up:

And so does this:

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Kitty permalink
    February 13, 2011 5:24 pm

    😦 That is terribly sad!

    If you want my opinion (since you don’t know me I’ll give it anyway and you can decided if you want it or not):

    I believe its better to stay involved then to try to jump back in. You’ll eliminate the nerves of jumping in with people you don’t know as you will be meeting them as they come. You won’t have to re-learn to skate again and like you said you’ll know the rules inside and out. With that you will be a better player in the end. If you are on a exercise restrictions until you are off it stats is a fun job.

  2. IndyGo Wylde permalink
    February 13, 2011 6:43 pm

    I agree with her^. Not to mention that you still get to hang out with your derby sisters if you continue on as a ref. You need to take care of you first, then, when you are ready, you will be a better skater for it. Much love, as I understand exactly how crappy it is to feel like you’re just getting the hang of skating then a major setback hits you. You are an inspiration for skating at all this soon after major heart surgery. Keep your chin up, I’m cheering for you!

  3. Eleanor Elliott permalink
    February 13, 2011 7:13 pm

    Dear PTSDee, please take care of yourself first, hearts and
    uterus’ are very important.
    I’m trying to figure out what happened to my blood pressure, and
    possibly my thyroid is screwed up too.
    Sincerely, Storm

  4. Mean Jean permalink
    February 13, 2011 7:24 pm

    Ref Ref Ref Ref Ref!

  5. Stella Ar-Twat permalink
    February 14, 2011 2:28 am

    Stay involved!!
    We would miss you PTSDee.

  6. February 14, 2011 5:27 am

    Oh no! Please take good care of yourself. I agree with the people that said you should be a ref. But health first. I’m sending you healing thoughts. ❤

  7. February 16, 2011 7:19 am

    Take good care of yourself, derby will be waiting for you with open arms when you are ready. And, stripes are slimming, so get out there and show off those black and whites (because that’s how U roller derby)!

Leave a Reply

