Skip to content

Skate Upgrade Dreams

February 16, 2011

I’ve mentioned before that I’ve been fantasizing about upgrading my skates but was feeling really undecided about what to get. It may seem strange that when I CAN’T skate is when I obsess the most, but I’ve had so much sick time in bed with my laptop that it has really fueled my skate fantasies. Whether I’m out-performing my current skates is questionable, but I deserve an upgrade, partly because I’ve been through so much to get to this point, but also because I plan to go through so much more.

Side note: Matt and I got tickets to Rollercon today!!!! Four/five days of skating workshops, scrimmages, bouts, and parties in “beautiful” Las Vegas! I can’t think of a better reason to go to Vegas (or any other reason actually). Maybe we’ll get married again, on skates this time.

So back to skate upgrades…

Here’s what I’m thinking:

Riedell 265 boots, White
Sure-Grip Invader DA-45 plate
Bones Reds bearings
Hyper Shaman wheels

I know the white boots will ultimately get pretty trashed on our track, but I love the white. Normally I wouldn’t go for such expensive wheels, but DerbySmack.com has a great price on them. Matt and I would like to have a wheel collection between the two of us so that we have wheels for every occasion. Wishful, I know. Have any of you Betties or fellow prospects skated our track with Hyper Shamans? Opinions?

Tryouts are coming up in a little over a week. I’m planning to be back on skates by then, but not planning to try out. I’m focusing on recovering, though it’s really hard for me. I just need to focus on the positives, mainly that I’m going to be a superstar when it comes to knowing the WFTDA rules when I try out in the summer.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

