Skip to content

Back on Wheels

February 20, 2011

Today was my first day back on skates since I got sick. It feels like it’s been a month, but it’s closer to three weeks.  I went to the skating rink for a Jr. skate session while the girls had their skating lessons.  Part of me was hoping that I’d get back out there and immediately feel I was back in my element.  I’ve been missing it sooooo much that I didn’t predict that I’d feel so off.

I started out with Matt’s softer cushions on my trucks and Matt’s wheels, which aren’t any fancier than mine, but are definitely less beat-up than my tired old wheels.  I loved the maneuverability with the softer cushions and it made me wonder how I got through boot camp with my really hard cushions and my trucks tightened all the way down.  I loosened them after passing assessments, but even loosened as far as they could go, they were still really stiff.  It kind of made me realize that better equipment will make some things sooooooo much easier.  I didn’t like Matt’s wheels.  I kinda felt like I was skating through mud. We switched back and I expected that I’d glide so much more smoothly with my wheels, but again…skating through even thicker mud.   I realized it wasn’t his wheels or mine, it was me.  I felt crappy.  I had no energy.   My muscles were acting like they’d rather be back in bed with my heating pad.  It was lame.

But at least I got out there.  Next time will be easier.  If it’s not pouring rain tomorrow, I’m going to go to practice to start my ref training, hopefully on skates.  I knew I would have to ease back into things, but a small part of me had this fantasy that I’d get back on skates, realize I hadn’t lost as much ground as I thought, and be able to at least muddle through try-outs next week.  Erm…no.

We finished the day off with a game of tag, which put the fun back into it for me.   I’m still faster than Matt and the girls, so when I was “it,” I’d do a lap to chase them down from behind.  It was a lot of fun.   I also got to practice some baby whips with Kate.  She’s learning to lower her center of gravity when she feels unstable, which makes me so proud 🙂

On another topic, I noticed that as of today,  I’ve had 2,000 hits on my blog since switching over to WordPress.  One of the things I like about WordPress is that it tells me what search terms people used to arrive at my blog.  By far, the most commonly searched term is “derby butt” or “roller derby butt.” Some of the others are “how to pass assessments,” “roller derby 25 laps,” and “badass skating skills.” My two favorites though are “I suck at roller derby” and “eat the baby roller derby.” Just thought I’d share 🙂

This is kind of meditative:

One Comment leave one →
  1. Trish, aka CodeMauler permalink
    February 20, 2011 4:16 am

    I’m just glad that you’re skating again!

Leave a Reply

