Skip to content

Bout Day!

February 27, 2011

Yesterday the Mission City Brawlin’ Betties had their first bout of the season. Not only was it my first chance to watch a bout since learning to skate, but also my first chance to be involved. No, not as a player (long, long road before that will happen), but helping out with it.

I started my day with a lump in my throat. I’m still grieving about my decision to take myself out of the training group and to instead train to be a ref. I guess I didn’t really have much of a choice, as sick as I was, but now that I’m feeling better it’s hard not to wonder if I might have been able to catch up again after almost a month of rest. I keep having to remind myself that I didn’t wimp out, I just had to take care of my body so that I could recover more quickly. Still…grrrrr.

I’m a bit in limbo. I am officially part of the Derby Justice League, but hadn’t been doing it long enough to be ready to have a reffing role in the bout, or even as a NSO (non skating official). While I’m not ready to be a ref, I’m also not a “prospect” anymore. I feel like in order to stay involved, I just have to keep showing up and helping out where I can. I’ve got to keep putting myself out there because no one is going to do it for me. So I asked for a role and was taught to be in charge of updating the scoreboard.

I wish I had some photos to share, but I was so focused on not screwing up the scoreboard that I didn’t take any pictures. Bout day was COLD and the clouds were threatening to rain. As soon as the first jam whistle blew, we felt the first few drops. The game had to be stopped for a few minutes while we waited for the rain to pass, and sure enough, it did. Soon it was underway again. I loved being able to watch the strategy of the teams, something that I was much less aware of last season when I watched them. I understand so much more of what’s happening, why people are getting penalties, or why people are screaming at the refs. The game was a blowout. The Betties won the bout 202-40 against the only team that beat them last season. I think this season will be fantastic, especially if they start competing teams that are more challenging.

My favorite moments of the bout: Viva Violence scoring a 30 point jam, Mary J. Yma’s return as a jammer after being out on an injury last season, Dita De Los Muertos coming out of the penalty box to take out two blockers and the jammer in a matter of seconds. It was awesome!

I was on the scoreboard by myself for the second half (the pressure!) and I didn’t screw it up once 🙂

I learned later that Matt Damon was at the bout and that he was asking for autographs from the Betties. How cool is that? Of course, I didn’t see him because I manage to miss every celebrity sighting possible in a town full of celebrities. I’ve never once seen one in the wild. Maybe I pass by them all the time and just have no idea who they are because they look different when they aren’t projected on a giant screen.

The there was the after party. I HAD SO MUCH FUN! Dancing, Karaoke (no, I didn’t sing), and PBR. It was a blast and I can’t wait till the next one (March 19th!)

P.S. I have new skates ordered and I can’t wait!!!! They should be here before the end of next week. I decided on Riedell 265 boots, Invader DA-45 plates, Bones Red bearings, and slim Atom G-Rod wheels.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Trish, aka CodeMauler permalink
    February 27, 2011 5:57 pm

    WOW! Your day, however bittersweet, sounds like a BLAST! You are even a bad@$$ on the scoreboard!!

    I’m so glad that you got back in the Derby, even if it wasn’t your first choice of roles. I suspect that just “being there” is exciting (even without Matt Damon). Your love of the sport and affection for the home team is amazing. I got goosebumps just reading your blog. 🙂

    Congratulations on finding a way to put your body’s needs first AND staying active with the Betties; what a great balance!! ~ Trish

Leave a Reply

