Skip to content

Just Keep Swimming

March 7, 2011

I love Dory.

My blog has been quiet lately because I don’t want it to become a place where I whine freely and publicly.  Last week team tryouts were held and I wasn’t there.  It was disappointing.  I was grumpy.  I think I’m over it now, so I’ll focus on my plan to keep working on my skating goals.

Health-wise, I’ve recovered and am back to normal.  No more pain, no more doctor visits.  Fitness wise, I’ve lost some ground.  I knew that I would, but it’s always tough to get back to working out after a time off.  I’ve been skating, running, and doing some plyometrics.  Over the past couple of years, exercise has been my primary way of coping and lifting my mood.  Since getting sick, exercise hasn’t really filled that need, at first because I wasn’t allowed to, and then because it’s so much more challenging than before I got sick.  I like that feeling of going for a run and pushing to go that extra mile or to improve my pace.  It leaves me with a successful “I win” feeling.  I haven’t been getting that “I win” feeling with my workouts lately.

Fortunately, a very well-timed blog was posted to derbygirlsblog which helped me get through those workouts. Blockodile Dundee wrote What I’ve Learned: One year in in which she basically drives home the point: the more you put in, the more you’ll get out of it. The better shape you are, the better skater you’ll be.  Pretty basic, right?  I think that what was most helpful for me about that blog in that moment, was that it reminded me why I push through those discouraging workouts.  Why I continue to run even if I’m unable at the moment to beat my last distance or pace.  Why those really bad skating sessions aren’t so bad after all.

And here’s why:  Every time I do it, I get closer.  It doesn’t matter that I’m weaker now than a month ago.  It doesn’t matter that my endurance is shot.  What matters is that I keep going, keep getting stronger, and keep improving from here on out.   The blog wasn’t even related to recovering from an illness or an injury, but I made it about that.  While I was jogging at a snail’s pace, instead of telling myself that I shouldn’t waste time on a crappy run, I was telling myself that pushing through a crappy run is how I become an athlete.

So what’s next?  I’d like to be ready for team tryouts in June, but I also want to learn to be a skating ref.  Is there any reason why I can’t learn both? Maybe, but I don’t know what that reason is yet.

My plan:
Skate every chance I get.  Skate hard.  Fall down a bit, even in public.
Keep running.  I’m signed up for a 10K in three weeks.  Even if I can’t run the whole thing, I’m going to finish.
One-legged squats, three minute planks, lunges until I can’t stand.
Learn everything I can about the rules.
Watch as much derby as I can and look for the penalties and strategies.

P.S. I got my new wheels (Atom G-Rod Slims) and I love them! I was worried that the slimmer wheels would feel less stable or something, but I feel much less like a stomping Frankenstein skater and feel like my crossovers are more fluid.  New skates will be arriving by the end of the week!  I’ve got my blister pads ready to help me break in new boots…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Kitty permalink
    March 8, 2011 5:10 pm

    Hiya!

    I am glad you love your new wheels! I can’t wait til your skates come. What wheels had you been skating on before?

    • March 8, 2011 5:47 pm

      I had been skating on Radar Tuners (92a and 93a) and also tried my husband’s Fugitives (93a), both of which are the standard width (44mm). The G-Rods are slimmer at 38mm.

      • Kitty permalink
        March 8, 2011 6:31 pm

        What kind of plates do you have on your new skates? (Sorry if you already posted) I am considering thinner wheels but I am going to wait a year til i can buy new plates to accommodate and work with them.

  2. March 8, 2011 6:34 pm

    My new skates will have the Invader DA-45 plates. I haven’t had a chance to try them out yet, but I’ve heard good things about what you get for the price and added maneuverability.

    • Kitty permalink
      March 8, 2011 6:44 pm

      Yup, those are the ones I am looking into! 🙂 I have heard amazing things. I am excited to hear what that are like for you 😀

  3. March 15, 2011 8:31 pm

    I tend to skate around singing “just keep skating just keep skating” in my head all the time.

Trackbacks

  1. Adjusting, Falling, and Getting Up « That's How I Roller Derby

Leave a Reply

