Skip to content

OOOoooOOOooo!

March 12, 2011

My new skates came today!

Yes, white.  I know that they won’t stay pristine for long on our track, but I just love these boots in white.

I’ve been stressing all week that the boots wouldn’t fit as well as I remembered when I tried them on, but they are sooo comfy right out of the box.  I’m still expecting that I’ll have a break-in period so I’m all stocked up on blister pads.  I’m planning on trying them out tomorrow when we take the kids to their lessons at the rink, and then if my feet still have more to give, I’ll go try them out on the track for a bit.  I learned that the Riedell toe caps don’t fit over the Invader DA-45 plates, so I’ll have to invent something to protect my toes before I start knee-sliding all over our unforgiving track.  I also picked up some gumball toe-stops to see if they help me feel more comfortable with my toe-stop runs.

Wish me luck!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. IndyGo Wylde permalink
    March 12, 2011 5:18 am

    LUCK! They’re beautiful, enjoy them!

  2. Kitty permalink
    March 12, 2011 11:04 pm

    There is a gal on the league I do stats for that protects her boots by putting socks with a hole cut for the toe stop and the front axles to go threw.

    Also there are leather protecting creams, a magic eraser helps clean leather really well too.

  3. Follow my Fitness permalink
    March 14, 2011 1:59 am

    Yay! How wonderful, Simone! Good luck!

    Jenn McCollum

  4. March 18, 2011 2:30 pm

    Those are purty! Soo jealous 🙂 I am seriously considering getting some Invader’s with Gumball toe stops soon to put on my crappy Outlaw boots. I am poor so I have to do things one step at a time.

  5. Engel permalink
    March 19, 2011 5:02 am

    they are almost the same setup i ordered for myself! xk4 da45 plates, qube 8 bearings, 265 boots (but they are pink instead of white) and g rods as well!
    i will start roller derby as soon as they arrive, so reading about you with them is really nice, im loving to read your blog!

  6. Engel permalink
    March 19, 2011 5:03 am

    Oh, if i were you i would buy toeguards from derby vixen on etsy to protect those gorgeous skates of yours. 😉

    • March 19, 2011 5:37 am

      Thanks! Normal toeguards (at least the Riedell ones) don’t fit on these skates because the plate is a little different/bulkier. I bought some scrap leather and am working on fashioning my own toeguards. I have some time because I’m not really skating so hard on them while reffing or playing around at the rink. Once I start doing knee falls though, some toe guards will definitely be required.

  7. Engel permalink
    March 20, 2011 12:30 pm

    http://www.etsy.com/people/derbyvixen
    here is the link to her store, she does custom orders. ❤
    so you can get it in white leather i guess, but i suggest getting the traditional black ones and if you want them to fit your skates color, just go with the design in the middle in white. will look great, IMHO.
    im a freshmeat wannabe, i ordered my skates last week and im really really anxious to get my hands on them! but im on vacations in brazil, and as you got a simillar setup to mine you know it isnt cheap (and i think mine was a tiny bit expensivier because of the color change or did you have to pay for the white color change too?) anyhow, im brazilian, but live in germany. im on vacations to see family in brazil, and shipping here would be 115 dollars expensivier, and would arrive on top of the time, so maybe my mom would get it and have to spend money again on shipping to send it to germany for me. so sending it to brazil was a no-no. if it gets there earlier, my boyfriend will be there to receive it, if not, i will be there myself

    ps: i had a boring night and found your blog really interesting so i.. erhm.. kind of read all your blog entries. sorry for creeping out. :/

    • March 21, 2011 5:07 pm

      Thanks, I’ve seen derbyvixen, it just looks like the customizing is for the design and not so much for the size/shape to accommodate the plate.

      No, I didn’t have to pay extra for the white, it just takes longer to order because most places don’t keep them in stock. I got a great deal on Derbysmack.com which had my boot/plate/wheel combo for about $100 less than most places I looked.

      Wow that you read all my blog entries! Not creepy, I’m glad my blog is interesting enough to hold your attention.

Leave a Reply

