Skip to content

Funny tan lines, cute ugly feet, and the six month marker

May 2, 2011

Today I went for an outdoor skate with some of the derby girls (and guy).  The weather was perfect, as it often is in Santa Barbara.  70-something degrees, sunny, slightly breezy.  We skated a total of about 10 miles of bike path along the beach, maneuvering around tourists, cyclists, and those silly surreys.  We skated with knee pads, elbow pads and wrist guards. I’ve occasionally gone without my elbow-pads, but I do feel slightly vulnerable. The thing with the pads is that even with sunscreen, I end up with funny tan lines from the pads. I can see that by the end of the summer, I’m going to have a very odd tan.

I think there were about eight of us, and as we skated by, people would shout “roller derby!” or ask when the next bout is.  I heard one person say, “there go those Roller Angels”  Haha!  It was so much fun!  As we whizzed by, I remembered that the first time I attempted an outdoor skate on this path, I was getting passed by joggers.  As we started to get worn out, we motivated ourselves to make an extra trip down to the end of the beach and back by agreeing to stop for margaritas at the end.  Yummm.

And a quick update about my foot issue. A couple of weeks ago, I went to the doctor for a check up. I mentioned to her that I was having some foot pain related to skating and asked for a referral to a podiatrist. She looked at my foot and said “Awwwww you have a little bunionette!” Bunionette makes it sound so cute. It doesn’t feel so cute, but apparently it’s cute enough that it does not require a referral to a podiatrist. It’s an inflamed joint caused by friction from skating. She suggested that I wear a bunion pad when I skate, take ibuprofen or something like it, and ice it if needed. She told me that a podiatrist wouldn’t be able to do much other than recommend surgery, and my bunionette is a long cry from that serious of an issue. The other thing I’m going to do is get that part of my boot punched when the Riedell reps visit later this month. The bottom line is that, while annoying, it’s not something that’s going to progressively mutate my foot or cause me to have to quit skating.

Last Sunday attendance was low at practice due to it being Easter. After the team did their scrimmage practice and we did our reffing practice, we all got together and worked on drills together. It was my first time doing drills on the track (not just practicing on my own) since I got sick in January. I started out nervous, hoping to not make an ass of myself, but it turned out to be awesome. We practiced weaving through a pace line and hip bumps. Nothing too advanced and it wasn’t with quite the hardcore intensity that I remember from past practices, but it gave me a great boost to my confidence to realize that yes, I do have the skills to weave, land some baby hits, and keep up throughout the whole drill. It did remind me, however, that as much as I’ve been practicing my endurance doing crossovers, I could handle some more work on skating low and using sticky feet. My thighs were burning!

There was a while where my lack of confidence was causing derby and skating in general, to become un-fun. I was so focused on getting better that I wasn’t enjoying the ride. I’m still focused on getting better, but I think the past couple of months have helped me re-adjust my attitude and bring back the fun part of skating. I still have certain skills that I struggle with and I’d still like better endurance (who wouldn’t?), but I’m doing a much better job at recognizing how much I have improved in the past six months.

Wow, six months. Already?

Oh yeah, and click HERE to check out my profile on the Brawlin’ Betties website!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Trish, aka CodeMauler permalink
    May 2, 2011 4:04 pm

    What an amazing post; full of great news and fun (and margaritas!). I’m so glad that things are working out so well for you. I’ll bet you will really see the difference once your boot is punched out! ~ Trish

  2. May 7, 2011 9:03 pm

    Hi!

    I just wanted to say that I stumbled on your blog last night and read every single one of your entries. Your blog finally pushed me to try something that I’ve always wanted to try but have always been too afraid to do. I kept telling myself I was too old, too fat, too uncoordinated to skate and reading about you just going for it and reading about your struggles and successes inspired me to go for it myself. Today I bought a pair of skates and, when this rain passes, I’ll head to the nearest parking lot and skate for the first time in two decades. I’m so excited I can’t stop grinning like a fool. So…thanks. I can’t wait to read what happens next in your adventure!

    Suz

    • May 9, 2011 1:35 am

      Seriously, your comment brought tears to my eyes. Yeah, I was in a public place…a kids party no less lol. I’m so glad that my blog is inspiring to you! I hope your first skate goes well, but don’t be surprised if it doesn’t. I’ve been told many times, “if you aren’t falling, you aren’t trying hard enough.” I’m not saying go out and fall, but try your heart out! Just make sure you’re wearing protective gear (yes, even in parking lots!)

      • May 9, 2011 4:33 pm

        Well, my first skate was a little shaky, but my second? Amazing. I know I have a lot (a *lot*) of work to do to get me skating the way I want to skate, but I hope to be strong enough by the end of the summer to head to a local recreational roller derby open practice session to learn some “real” skating skills.

        Now I just have to learn how to concentrate on work when it’s sunny and warm outside and all I want to do is skate and skate and skate…!

  3. May 22, 2011 2:11 am

    I loved loved your profile. pretty and funny lady.

  4. June 2, 2011 1:24 am

    Haha, that was a fun skate. PTSDee. Some guy who lived in the park opened his arms and came at me, “Come here, roller girl,” he said. EW! And I high-fived that skateboarder and almost broke his hand because I have steel rods in my “prescription” wristguard. Good times.
    -Surf Slut

Leave a Reply

