Skip to content

My Newest Skill

July 6, 2011

Well I haven’t updated in a long time.  When I wrote my last blog, I was supposed to referee my first bout as an outside pack ref.  We got rained out and there was no bout.  Rain in June?  Doesn’t happen.  I was told it hadn’t rained on that day for the past 30 years or so.  I was disappointed, mostly because that was our last home bout for a while.  There will be other chances and I plan to take them.

One of the reasons why this was our last home bout for some time is because our track is only available when the showgrounds don’t have other things going on, like carnivals and horse shows.  Apparently summer is a busy time for carnivals and horse shows, so we’re on “blackout” pretty much through the month of July.  We need a home, preferably one with more roof and less horses.

At any rate, that’s not keeping me from skating.  RollerCon is in 3 weeks!  Five days in Vegas, packed with skills trainings, bouts, scrimmages, and parties!  Vegas is a city that doesn’t hold much attraction to me (particularly in the summer) unless it is jam packed full of roller derby.  Because I haven’t been practicing with the team since late January (referee practice isn’t quite the same), I re-did my minimum skills assessment yesterday to show that I have the basic skills necessary to skate safely in the trainings and maybe even the open scrimmages.

Last time I assessed, I was super nervous.  I wanted to vomit.  I couldn’t sleep the night before.  I was struggling with the “I suck” comments in my head.  This time around was completely different, at least inside my head.  First of all, the assessments were only for the purpose of skating at RollerCon.  But more importantly, I went into it knowing I can do it and not sweating the parts that I didn’t do perfectly.  The contact skills (hits, blocks, etc.) were what I had the least experience with (not something refs practice on each other so much) but I felt comfortable enough on my skates that I could at least give it a good effort.  I fell, I got back up.

I passed.  But what I’m really proud of isn’t passing the assessments, but going into it with confidence, having fun, and coming out of it feeling good about myself.  Confidence is the skill that’s been hardest for me to build.  It will also be the skill I need most for mid-season try outs next month.  Particularly if I make the team, Idon’t need those “I suck” comments to be holding me back.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Trish, aka CodeMauler permalink
    July 6, 2011 5:49 pm

    What a great reason to re-check those skills! I think that’s a marvelous plan and cannot wait to hear more about Vegas.

    It’s not my favorite spot, either, so feel free to focus on all of the roller goodness! 🙂

Leave a Reply

