Skip to content

Brain, please don’t sabotage

August 13, 2011

Mid season try-outs are this weekend.  Today is part one, minimum skills and drills.  Tomorrow, scrimmage.

Nerves.  My brain is my biggest enemy in this.  It tries to over-think things.  It chops down my confidence.

I know how to skate, I’ve passed my skills test twice. As far as scrimmaging, well I just have to remind myself that I’m only expected to do what I know.  I need to skate safe, keep my wits about me, and strategy will follow.  What need to do is let my intuition take over and let my brain take the back seat.  Or better yet, tie it up and throw it in the trunk.  My brain is an annoying back seat driver.

My bearings are clean, my body is hydrated, and I’m well slept.  Here we go!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Trish, aka CodeMauler permalink
    August 15, 2011 3:15 pm

    I hope the weekend went well for you, looking forward to an update!

Leave a Reply

